TBF : The Book Files : Follow Me Home by Jen Benjamin; Wallace Publishing

Yes. Two posts in a day because apparently, I enjoyed Sunday way too much and now it’s time to get back to business. #MondayBlues 

If you’ve been following me on the blog or any social media link as for that matter, you would know that I’m not big on the romantic genre. However, this year started off with a heartwarming anthology of secret desires and all kinds of love and then I read Lose Me and both of these books melted my stone cold heart and I softened a bit up to the genre. 

The book up for review now is Follow Me Home by Jen Benjamin published by Wallace Publishing. It’s a contemporary romance novel which I wasn’t really sure if I would like much but I was pleasently surprised. 

When author Katie Kendall‘s marriage falls apart just as her debut book is selected to be adapted into a motion picture, she is torn between celebration and depression. Despite a loveless marriage of 6 years, it takes Katie a while before she learns to rein in her out-of-control life when Jesse Spencer walks into her life. Julia Giuliano, the director of the movie adaption of Katie’s book stands by her side as she teaches her the workings of the movie industry and the much needed lesson to be happy and move on. What starts off as simple friendship, Jesse and Katie find themselves thrown together in a whirlwind of paparazzi, glamour, accusations, tabloids and confused emotions. 

Every chapter begins with a small journal entry which to me was quite a clever idea. The small note hints at what the chapter holds and I loved the wit and humour of them all! Now, the story starts off with a failing marriage which a couple of pages later actually dissolves and the reader is able to relate to Katie as she goes through anguish, pain, loneliness and the guilt of failure. Jeremy is a jerk through and through and I don’t want to say anything more about it. He made me fume everytime his name popped up! Jesse Spencer is a star who is looking for validation and when Katie selects him to play the protagonist in her film, he is thrilled. He respects her and her writing, something that I absolutely adored. Down to earth, smart and mature, it was easy to see Katie fall for him.

However, what I loved about this book even more than the chemistry between the two protagonists was the bond of friendship Katie shared with Ashley and Julia. From backing her up to throwing her  a divorce party, sending each other silly snap chats to holding her when she broke down, it was the friendship that stole my heart. I’ve realised that as compared to the heavy burdened romance novels, the contemporary ones actually have a feeling of livelihood and relatablility which to me, as a reader, is much more enjoyable since I’m just starting off on the romance genre. Overall, it was a solid 4 out of 5, because a couple of grammatical glitches here and there!

Disclaimer : I received a review copy by the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

